Apple has come up recently with trio of its top of the line iPhone devices for the year 2018 including iPhone XS, iPhone XS Max and iPhone XR. Interestingly, the two elder siblings of the new lineup have been introduced with a dual SIM technology for the first time in the iPhone history.

However, those dual SIM enabled iPhone handsets are not meant for everyone as one must be in a region where cellular operators support the eSIM with cutting-edge electronic subscription technology. 

What is an eSIM?

The eSIM (Embedded Subscriber Identity Module) is a new technology that brings all the carriers towards using one standard chip for SIM. This would lead the users to get rid of the hassle of changing SIMs every now and then. Moreover, the eSIM is soldered onto a specialized port and it stays there permanently enabling users to switch between different carriers.

But, unfortunately this technology isn’t supported by every country therefore the eSIM supported iPhone devices will only be marketed in 10 countries worldwide with the carriers mentioned in the table below:

Country Carriers
Austria T-Mobile
Canada Bell
Croatia Hrvatski Telekom
Czech Republic T-Mobile
Germany Telekom, Vodafone
Hungary Magyar Telekom
India Airtel, Reliance Jio
Spain Vodafone Spain
United Kingdom EE
USA AT&T, T-Mobile, Verizon

However, the case for China is a bit different as Apple is reported to roll-out the entire range of new iPhone devices with two physical trays thus enabling Chinese users to use two nano-SIM cards simultaneously. Whereas, Pakistan is not listed among those regions where eSIM technology is available.