The 70th Independence Day will be celebrated in Pakistan on August 14 this year. Pakistan Railways is all set to celebrate the occasion in a traditional way by bringing ‘Special Azadi Train’ on the track.

The Special Azadi Train has started its voyage from Islamabad Margalla Station on 12th of August and will terminate at Karachi Cantt Station on 25th of August, covering all the four provinces.

Officials from Pakistan Railways stated that the Special Azadi Train intends to focus on different phases of the Pakistan Movement along with the on-going sacrifices paid by the Law Enforcement Agencies including the Armed Forces of Pakistan. Another important aspect of this long journey relates to highlighting the cultural traditions of all the regions.

Azadi Train Preparations

The Special Azadi Train was furnished at the Rawalpindi Carriage Factory. More than one hundred people worked day and night to prepare special wagons from interior and exterior.

The coaches of the Azadi train represent the cultures and traditions of all the four provinces plus Azad Kashmir and Gilgit- Baltistan. The train will also highlight Pakistan’s efforts against terrorism and extremism.

According to an official from PNCA, the National Puppet Theater will be part of the program. They will present their puppet shows to highlight different national themes.

Lok Virsa artists will also be part of the show as they will add another colorful dimension to this activity at the national level.

Azadi Train Schedule

The Azadi Train will continue its journey across the length and breadth of the country for 15 days, making stopovers at the stations situated in the main cities. During this journey, it will also hold shows where local artists can represent their culture.

Complete schedule for the Azadi Train has been finalized and released.

Railway Station







Islamabad August 12 12:30 pm
Peshawar Cantt August 12 4:30 pm August 13 10:30 am
Rawalpindi August 13 7:15 pm August 15 9:15 am
Lahore August 15 10:00 pm August 17 12:00 pm
Multan August 17 11:30 pm August 18 9:00 am
Khanpur August 18 7:19 pm August 19 8:30 am
Sukkur August 19 8:00 pm August 20 9:30 am
Sibbi August 20 8:00 pm August 21 7:00 am
Quetta August 21 5:00 pm August 23 7:00 am
Sukkur August 23 7:30 pm August 24 8:00 am
Nawab Shah August 24 7:00 pm August 25 9:00 am
Hyderabad August 25 11:00 am August 25 4:00 pm
Karachi Cantt. August 25 6:00 pm