how-delete-whatsapp-message

WhatsApp has rolled out another useful feature that enables you to delete sent messages for everyone. The feature remained in rumours for quite a long time and was made available to the beta testers meanwhile. Later on, the feature was suddenly pulled down and now is made public for everyone.

The new feature gives you the control on your chat history enabling you to delete a message for everyone once you sent it. For instance, if you are chatting with one of your friends and delete a message from your phone, it will also be deleted from your friend’s phone.

So need not to worry, if you sent someone a message by mistake, just delete it from your chat history, it will never appear on your friend’s screen.

How to Delete Sent Messages on WhatsApp

The feature is very simple in use. If you need to delete a message, make sure to do that within 7 minutes of sending otherwise you’ll lose the control. Two options will appear on your screen; “Delete for me” and “Delete for everyone”. Just select the latter one to delete the message from both the phones. Your friend will see “This message was deleted” once you delete a message.

delete-whatsapp-messages

7 Minutes Limited Time

There are some limitations that you may keep in your mind as WhatsApp enables you to control your chat for a limited time only.

  • You can delete a message within 7 minutes of when you sent it. Once the 8th minute starts, you will not be able to delete that particular message.
  • If your friend takes a screenshot of your chat before you delete it, you will not be able to do anything as even if you delete the message, your friend will have that screenshot.
  • If you delete a message from your end even within 7 minutes while your friends do not have an active internet connection at that time, the message will not be deleted at their end until they connect to the internet again.
  • You will not get any confirmation if the message was deleted from your friend’s phone as well.

The feature is being rolled out in stages worldwide. It might take some time to reach everyone, you should keep your WhatsApp up to date if you want to be one of the first ones to get the update.